Arizona is a zero-tolerance state, so that means it is illegal to drive while impaired to the slightest degree by drugs or alcohol. These are typical called DUI to the Slightest Degree and DUI .08 or more.
Impaired to the Slightest Degree
Impairment to the Slightest Degree makes it is illegal to drive a vehicle, while impaired to the slightest degree to alcohol or drugs. Impairment is subjective, and does not requires a blood or breath test. Typically shown through traffic violations or and Standardized Field Sobriety Tests (FSTs).
Above a .08
Arizona law also makes it illegal to drive with a blood/breath alcohol concentration (BAC) of a .08 or more. This is typically shown through a blood or breath test.
Penalties for Non-Extreme DUI Conviction
- Jail:Minimum 10 days. But, all but 1 day may be suspended, upon proof of completion of an alcohol/drug assessment.
- Any recommended alcohol/drug classes
- Fine: Around $2000
- Driver’s Licenses Suspension: 90 day license suspension, but you can obtain a restricted license after first 30 days
- Interlock Device: Ignition Interlock for between 6 and 12 months. But the Court may impose more.
- MVD Points: 8 points, which triggers Traffic Survival School.
- Insurance: SR-22 Insurance Policy
Second Non-Extreme DUI Conviction in 7 Years
A conviction for a second non-extreme DUI within seven (7) years from the first conviction, will result in harsher penalties. Those penalties are:
- at least 90 days in jail, with 60 days suspended only upon completion of the mandatory alcohol screening classes
- A minimum fine of approximately $3,500.00
- 30 hours of community service
- 1 Year License Revocation
- 1 Year mandatory Ignition Interlock Device in your car
A conviction for a third non-extreme DUI within seven (7) years from the first conviction, will result in the felony charge of Aggravated Driving Under the Influence. So, you face even harsher punishments, including prison.