Arizona law prohibits driving without a valid and current license under. So, that includes a suspended, revoked, canceled, or refused license.
Penalties for Driving on Suspended License
Driving on a Suspended License is a class 1 misdemeanor, so you risk up to 180 days in jail, 3 years probation, and $4574 in fines and fees. Sometimes, a judge will dismiss these charges. But, this only occurs for suspension based on unpaid traffic fines.
Why is My License Suspended?
Your driver’s license could be suspended or revoked for a variety of reasons including DUI, license points, unpaid fines, or other criminal convictions. The Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) mails a suspension or revocation notice to your last known address. But, if you haven’t updated your address with ADOT, you may not receive this notice. However, the suspension or revocation is valid upon MAILING, not receipt.